Reviews

Thank you hope to visit again - Rating 5/5

We had a marvellous stayThe hotel is superb, full of character history and charm.Everything is superb quality, the rooms the breakfast and the hospitality.We wish we has been able to stay longer.The hotel is spotlessly clean. The breakfast was wonderful.

Reviewer:sarah p | Thu 6th Dec 2018 | 3 days ago


Overnight stay 13/14 November 2018 - Rating 5/5

Very welcoming into a most comfortable house with much of historical interest.The continental breakfast was wide-ranging and very well provided with requested warmed croissants and toast.We would certainly return if we have occasion in the future to re-visit Portsmouth.Thank you!

Reviewer:David G | Tue 20th Nov 2018 | 2 weeks ago


Fantastic Accommodation - Rating 5/5

Fantastic, character filled accommodation, located easy walking to Gunwharf Quay and Naval museum, outstanding breakfast and fabulous host. A great experience and would totally recommend

Reviewer:Karen l | Mon 5th Nov 2018 | 1 month ago


Fabulous Character - Rating 4/5

Great accommodation with immense character.In a great location with very friendly staff and welcoming feel.Only disappointment was the lack of a cooked breakfast. Would definitely stay again and would recommend to others.

Reviewer:Julian S | Sun 4th Nov 2018 | 1 month ago


Excellent Hotel - Rating 5/5

Excellent hotel.Staff very helpful and friendly.Beautiful rooms, with attention to detail. Breakfast was very good, with plenty of choices. Great location.

Reviewer:Helen B | Wed 31st Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


Fabulous- Rating 5/5

Thoroughly recommend this hotel, great hosts, beautiful building and luxurious rooms. Fantastic breakfast and great location.

Reviewer:Donna G | Mon 29th Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


WOW!! - Rating 5/5

My partner and I stayed in the red room the pictures of this room did not do it justice!We will defiantly be coming back to stay!I would encourage everyone to stay here we were made to feel very welcome and loved the champagne welcome drink.

Reviewer:Stacey W | Wed 17th Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


Great find - Rating 5/5

Very hospitable welcome, lovely glass of champagne in their very cosy bar. Overall first impression, like walking into the past, beautifully presented. Comfortable mattress in a very quaint bedroom. Delicious breakfast friendly service through out. We would stay again.

Reviewer:Gary H | Wed 17th Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


Brilliant stay - Rating 5/5

Fantastic stay in a absolutlety unique hotel. Comfortable room, lovely small bar to relax in and great hospitality. Would highly recommend Ye Spotted Dogge as a real oppertunity to experiance a real bit of British history.

Reviewer:Mr M A | Sun 30th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Going back in time at Ye Spotted Dogge- Rating 5/5

Ye Spotted Dogge is a step back into history. There is a warm welcome from staff with a complementary drink when you arrive and my husband and I enjoyed the talk about the history of the house. The room was not only elegant but also comfortable with lovely finishing touches. Breakfast was continental with plenty of choice. A lovely hotel in a perfect location.

Reviewer:Debbie Wells ( | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Excellent Accommodation - Rating 5/5

Very warm welcome, complimentary welcome drink, we were given tour of the house which the owner is rightly proud of, we had the Red Room which has been fully restored relating to its history. The accommodation has a small but well stocked bar. Excellent buffet breakfast and service throughout. Only a ten minute walk to the Quay side shopping centre with its many restaurants.

Reviewer:Anthony Arnold ( | Sat 22nd Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


Brilliant - Rating 5/5

Wonderful comfortable place to stay with an incredibly interesting history. Very welcoming owner Ian and friendly staff, not to mention a fantastic old bar, and cosy garden. Hope to be back soon.

Reviewer:Trevor B | Tue 11th Sep 2018 | 2 months ago


A Family Gathering - Rating 5/5

A very enjoyable and interesting hotel.Excellent breakfast.Clean & very comfortable. A touch of English history.Thoroughly recommended.

Reviewer:Adrian J | Thu 6th Sep 2018 | 3 months ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

We were made to feel very welcome and were looked after supremely well during our short stay. The breakfasts are amazing. We can't see how anyone could fail to enjoy their stay here. Highest recommendation.

Reviewer:Morris Portsmouth ( | Thu 6th Sep 2018 | 3 months ago


Stunning- Rating 5/5

Stunning, a beautifully restored historic house ,A lovely atmosphere, very friendly and helpfulHosts.

Reviewer:Brian H | Mon 20th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Interesting- Rating 4/5

Lovely property, great host. Thought it very expensive for the experience. Also bathroom position not suitable for older guests

Reviewer:Anthony H | Mon 13th Aug 2018 | 3 months ago


Stunning !!! - Rating 5/5

Stunning . Its a beautiful building both inside and outside with a lovely courtyard garden area to relax in , The whole experience from my greeting , a glass of Tatinger was a classy touch , to the excellent continental breakfast was worth every penny. The recommendations of local restaurants within 5-10 mins walking distance were also top class . I really enjoyed my stay .

Reviewer:Andrew M | Fri 10th Aug 2018 | 4 months ago


Wonderful! - Rating 5/5

Thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay at Ye Dogge! Beautifully restored and had a warm welcome from Ian who also showed us round and gave us a very interesting history lesson. The Red Room was stunning, beautiful panelling and the biggest bed. All was quality and tasteful. And a fab bathroom tucked away up a tiny wooden staircase with a huge whirlpool bath! We were able to enjoy sitting in the courtyard garden which is delightful. Ian recommended and booked for us a local restaurant Koh Thai yum yum and we finished off our evening in the cosy snug bar at the hotel chatting to locals and quaffing delicious cocktails made by Alex the lovely young bar man who was also friendly, warm and welcoming. Great location to explore all Portsmouth has to offer!

Reviewer:Mazbrown65 Guildford, United K | Sat 4th Aug 2018 | 4 months ago


A very nice place to stay - Rating 5/5

I stayed here with a friend while visiting FoS at Goodwood. It’s a very nice and slightly eccentric hotel with its own little pub. We arrived late borh nights, but of course they opened the pub for us. The manager sat down for a drink as well. I will come back and I highly reccomend this hotel even though it’s a secret I really would have loved to keep for myself.

Reviewer:Mats W | Tue 31st Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Unexpected Luxuries- Rating 5/5

Even after reading reviews we were pleasantly surprised by the history, beauty and charm of the interior and garden area of this beautiful gem.Photos do not do it justice.This is a perfect place to relax and enjoy your surroundings.Comfortable sleeping in the Oak Room as well as large ensuite for the age of the property.Our schedule did not permit us to fully enjoy our unexpected hospitality of our stay.Plan to relax and enjoy your surroundings as well as the people during your stay.

Reviewer:Penny L | Sun 29th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Brilliant stay - Rating 5/5

We had been looking forward to returning to Portsmouth and our stay at Ye Spotted Dog. From our arrival, after a long tiring journey of 6 hours, we were not disappointed. Everyone was so welcoming and we enjoyed a relaxing drink in the beautiful courtyard. The Red Room was amazing - so big and characterful. The whirlpool. Agh bath soothed the aches of the day. After a walk by the sea the bed was very comfortable and roomy. Breakfast was exactly right and very filling. Staff were so attentive and friendly. All the rooms are quirky and filled with objects that compliment the ethos of the guest house. The situation in historic Portsmouth is brilliant - no need to take the car to get anywhere.Thank you for a wonderful stay we would love to come back. (If you want to know anything about the area ask Alan!!)Debbie and Geoff (Norfolk)

Reviewer:Debbie Trewhella ( | Sun 29th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Wonderful! - Rating 5/5

Thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay at Ye Dogge! Beautifully restored and had a warm welcome from Ian who also showed us round and gave us a very interesting history lesson. The Red Room was stunning, beautiful panelling and the biggest bed. All was quality and tasteful. And a fab bathroom tucked away up a tiny wooden staircase with a huge whirlpool bath! We were able to enjoy sitting in the courtyard garden which is delightful. Ian recommended and booked for us a local restaurant Koh Thai yum yum and we finished off our evening in the cosy snug bar at the hotel chatting to locals and quaffing delicious cocktails made by Alex the lovely young bar man who was also friendly, warm and welcoming. Great location to explore all Portsmouth has to offer!

Reviewer:Mazbrown65 Guildford, United K | Sat 28th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Beautiful hotel - Rating 5/5

What a fantastic little Gem the Ye spotted dog was, great history behind it and the hospitality was amazing, a very short from the docks and lovely pubs and restaurants, the bedrooms were beautifully designed and the continental breakfast was lovely, highly recommended

Reviewer:Steve H | Tue 10th Jul 2018 | 5 months ago


Beautifully Historic - Rating 5/5

A fantastically restored historical pub! The owner, Ian, obviously loves this place and you can really tell in every detail. The staff is lovely and it is a quiet, tranquil place!

Reviewer:Jennie V | Tue 26th Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


Made to feel \'special\' in Buckingham House - Rating 5/5

We received a warm welcome on arrival plus a glass of champagne. The building is stunning and the room we stayed in was very spacious and comfortable. We enjoyed learning about the history of the building and would definitely recommend it to our friends.

Reviewer:Patricia H | Sat 9th Jun 2018 | 6 months ago


Honoured Guest in Historic Inn - Rating 5/5

This used to be the best Inn to stay in old Portsmouth in the 17th century... unless you were the Duke of Buckingham who was murdered here. It's still the best Inn in Portsmouth, beautifully and thoughtfully restored, with pride and passion. We were welcomed with a handshake, champagne (which we finished off in the quaint relaxing garden), given a history of the Inn (fascinating) before being taken up to the Oak room (perfect).Breakfast, although only continental) was a treat,We were looked after as though we were honoured guests.Thank you - we will return.

Reviewer:Chris-Greville Barnsley, United K | Sat 2nd Jun 2018 | 6 months ago


Something Special! - Rating 5/5

This is a hidden gem, situated perfectly to explore Portsmouth. We stayed for just one night in the ‘Chinese Room’ and I must say from walking through the door we felt so welcome and totally looked after.Champagne in the garden in gorgeous sunshine while listening to the history of this special place. Every room beautifully decorated.Big comfortable bed and and tub in the room - what more can you ask for! Breakfast was an ample continental selection which met all of our needs.We loved our stay and hope to return in the not too distant future! Thank you.

Reviewer:Rachael G Kingston upon Thames, United K | Sat 2nd Jun 2018 | 6 months ago


Lovely- Rating 5/5

Spent a few days here. Greeted by the host with a potted history of the building and a lovely glass of bubbly .The room was delightful.Had drinks in the bar which we could take into the beautiful walled garden . Would definitely recommend this hotel

Reviewer:Veronica Wheatley ( | Fri 25th May 2018 | 6 months ago


Brief visit to Ye Spotted Dogge - Rating 5/5

I can't fault this hotel, every detail is beautiful. I felt welcomed and at home and was even offered a complimentary glass of champagne. The room was great, breakfast was very nice and location was ideal!

Reviewer:cbraund London, United K | Thu 17th May 2018 | 6 months ago


Fantastic hotel with real atmosphere- Rating 5/5

8th May 2018:What a gem! This lovely grade 2 listed hotel has recently been sympathetically renovated and has all the modern luxuries while retaining it's original character;it's one of the oldest buildings in the city.The owner met us personally and gave a brief history of the building over a complimentary glass of champaign.The staff were so friendly and helpful, having a real pride in their hotel.Comfortable and quiet rooms, an excellent Buffett style breakfast and a lovely inner garden courtyard made this one of the best hotels we have ever been to.If you are arriving by car it's worth phoning the property when you are near so they can arrange parking for you. The hotel is not obvious as you drive up the high street so plan ahead. We were parked right outside the hotel and provided with a free pass for the evening of our stay and all of the next day.

Reviewer:Robin M | Thu 10th May 2018 | 7 months ago


- Rating 5/5

Recently refurbished and to a very high standard. A lot of thought has obviously gone into the interior design and decorated with the age of the place in mind. There was a lovely sunny courtyard garden where you could relax with lots of potted plants and shrubs. All the rooms were beautifully decorated and the bed was like sleeping on a cloud. It also had a very well equipped bar and the continental breakfast was all fresh and tasty. Everything you need for a relaxing break. Also a very short walk to the Quays shopping outlet.

Reviewer:KAREN, ( | Wed 9th May 2018 | 7 months ago


Fantastic hotel with real character and friendly staff. - Rating 5/5

8th May 2018:What a gem! This lovely grade 2 listed hotel has recently been sympathetically renovated and has all the modern luxuries while retaining it's original character;it's one of the oldest buildings in the city. The owner met us personally and gave a brief history of the building over a complimentary glass of champaign. The staff were so friendly and helpful, having a real pride in their hotel. Comfortable and quiet rooms, an excellent Buffett style breakfast and a lovely inner garden courtyard made this one of the best hotels we have ever been to. If you are arriving by car it's worth phoning the property when you are near so they can arrange parking for you. The hotel is not obvious as you drive up the high street so plan ahead. We were parked right outside the hotel and provided with a free pass for the evening of our stay and all of the next day.

Reviewer:Robin, ( | Tue 8th May 2018 | 7 months ago


FANTASTIC - Rating 5/5

Great hotel with history, character yet with all the modern facilities. Great staff and comfortable/quiet rooms. Breakfast spread was lovely taken in the sunny dinning room which is steeped with history. It may look odd with everyone giving 5 star reviews- we are independent and fully agree- 5 star plus!

Reviewer:bobby s London, United K | Fri 4th May 2018 | 7 months ago


Spot on!!! - Rating 5/5

Ye Spotted Dogge is everything I look for in a hotel. As soon as we arrived we felt welcome and at ease, the building is oozing with history and we were given a short guided tour by the owner as we sipped champagne . There is a great cozy well stocked bar, a beautiful courtyard garden and our room was perfect. The warmest of hosts, the most comfortable room, and a delicious breakfast. If you want an extra special stay in Portsmouth then look no further, this has to be one of the very best in town.

Reviewer:NottheonlyMatt Arundel, United K | Mon 30th Apr 2018 | 7 months ago


BEST HOTEL IN PORTSMOUTH BY A LONG WAY - Rating 5/5

I visit Portsmouth 4 times a year to see family and am constantly underwhelmed at the poor quality of hotels on offer in such a lovely city. This hotel is superb and the rooms are amazing. Before you book anywhere else take a look at their website and book a room.steeped in history,outstanding service,the most glorious walled gardens and at a price that gets you little more than a box room in my home town of Brighton. Your hosts Ian and alex have created something very special that will leave you wanting to return again and again. Simply charming. Thank you guys, we will be back.

Reviewer:John H London, United K | Sun 25th Mar 2018 | 8 months ago


Superb hotel - Rating 5/5

Best hotel I’ve ever stayed at. Beautiful house with an interesting history. The rooms are perfectly decorated and the owner with staff were just amazing.

Reviewer:Marcus| Wed 7th Mar 2018 | 9 months ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

A lovely so so convenient two night stay near the very center of historic Portsmouth. In a very unique very historic house and garden on a quiet street. Parking was not a problem, in fact we were able to park right outside the front door! Breakfast was delicious and the few hours we spent in the snug bar chatting to the local members made for a very pleasantstay. Ian, Alex and the rest of the team could not do more for us! All you need to do is to find somewhere equally lovely among the variousoptions just a short walk away in town to eat in the evening.

Reviewer:Geoff S | Sun 25th Feb 2018 | 9 months ago


A Real Treat - Rating 5/5

This is what a hotel should be - beautifully appointed, graciously hosted, luxury as standard and quietly charming. From the personal greeting by Ian, the champagne on arrival presented by Alex, our exquisite room, the warm welcome from the patrons in the bar, to the delicious breakfast after a wonderful night's sleep, Ye Spotted Dogge ticks every single box. Bravo.

Reviewer:dingtonia U | Thu 1st Feb 2018 | 10 months ago


Beautiful hotel!!! - Rating 5/5

Wow! This place is amazing--living history, yet restored to include perfect modern comforts that seamlessly integrate into the 16th century vibe. Ian and Alex run this place like a B&B, which is the highest praise. You are made to feel like an Duke yourself, but you don't have to fear getting assassinated like the famous Duke of Buckingham did on this very spot. I highly recommend staying here. The Red Room is amazing!

Reviewer:David T | Mon 29th Jan 2018 | 10 months ago


UNIQUE AND BEAUTIFUL VENUE - Rating 5/5

Stayed for one night great location by Gunwharf Quay. Beautiful old building with lovingly restored rooms. Quaint bar in the building with nice selection of drinks. Great breakfast with whole stay topped off by the great service from the hosts

Reviewer:cww89 Felsted, United K | Sat 6th Jan 2018 | 11 months ago


A REAL GEM - Rating 5/5

Found this boutique hotel on trip advisor and what a find. Ian and Alex were helpful from the start. I requested dairy and gluten free breakfast and i had so much choice including a pack of biscuits in the room on arrival. The hotel and room were spotlessly clean. The hotel was well located and a short walk to the outlet mall, shops and restaurants and dockyard with lots to see. We parked our car for 3 days and didn't need to move it. The hotel provided us with a free parking badge, on our first night we didn't go out so Ian put together an easy meal of us to eat in the lounge/restaurant - with no notice and it was so delicious. Would definitely recommend to friends and family!

Reviewer:DaniSimon13 Bushey, United K | Thu 4th Jan 2018 | 11 months ago


Beautiful hotel - Rating 5/5

Not your average hotel! The rooms are really beautiful and I loved the bath.

Reviewer:Nabeena M | Wed 29th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely Treat - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful stay here last weekend. It was cold outside but warm and cosy inside, we felt thoroughly spoilt with a lovely welcome, beautiful surroundings and a friendly atmosphere. The position is great just a short walk to local restaurants, pubs and Gunwharf Quays. We will be back !

Reviewer:Shyvonne T | Fri 24th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Historic hotel on a quiet street - Rating 5/5

The fact that the staff make you feel welcome and the fact that this is a historic building so has a lot of character with quiet comfortable rooms.This is a 15th century building which has recently been converted into a hotel, the rooms are exceptionally comfortable and the one I had has a large and modern bathroom. The management and staff are very helpful and there is a nice bar. The hotel is located on the old town high street but this residential and quiet. You have a 20 min walk to the town center or to the ferry terminals. Because it is an old building there is no lift and there are three floors, however the staff will bring the luggage to the room. This is a very good place to stay in Portsmouth as it has a lot of character which is different to the chain hotels, there is no hotel parking and the only option is to park on the street outside. This hotel has a walled courtyard garden which will be nice in the summer and is a rare find in Portsmouth, the room I had has a minibar fridge and a good TV.

Reviewer:D | Thu 23rd Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


“Comfortable stay in Old Portsmouth” - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed our stay at Ye Spotted Dog which is very central for visiting Portsmouth and is set in a beautiful old building with lots of history and a lovely walled garden.We stayed for only one night but we we were welcomed by the owner on arrival with a complimentary glass of fizz and given a comprehensive history of the building and all of the staff were very helpful and friendly throughout our stay.Would recommend as a place to stay in Portsmouth although the room cost at over £200 per night is a little on the high side for B&B with continental breakfast.However in saying that the continental breakfast is of a particularly high quality with lots of fresh produce and we were kindly allowed a late check out at no additional cost so overall a thumbs up.

Reviewer:| Thu 23rd Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Beautiful stay - Rating 5/5

I can not fault this place. Ian and Alex have created a stay with a personal touch, attention to detail and 100% customer service. Their rooms are incredible, keeping the history of this heritage listed building, while creating a very comfortable stay for their guests.We were upgraded into the red room! What a treat this room is... so much history and so comfortable... the en suite and the bath a huge unexpected treat!From the initial chat with Ian with a complimentary glass of champagne, to the continental breakfast with fine china... our stay has been incredible... best night sleep I have had in a very long time!Simply... book a room... an experience you won’t regret... worth every penny... we wish Ian and Alex all the best with this beautiful business they have created.

Reviewer:| Fri 17th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


A real find! - Rating 5/5

I loved everything about this gorgeous little hotel. The owner met us at the door and gave us a potted history of the hotel (which was fascinating!) while we drank a complimentary glass of champagne in the lounge. We were then shown to our room, which was beautiful. Dinner reservations were made in a great local restaurant for us and nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely be back!

Reviewer:MelodyLillian Madrid, S | Sun 22nd Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Wonderful hotel - Rating 5/5

It was quite by accident that I booked a two-room number in Portsmouth ... And we got into a fairy tale! This is a real historical building, hotel-museum ... As it turned out later, in this house the famous Duke of Buckingham was stabbed !!! All the interiors are decorated with high artistic taste, it is clear that the owner has invested in this part of his soul. Separately worth noting is very friendly staff, we were greeted as family ... did not want to leave ... We spent in this wonderful house 4 days ... I almost forgot to tell about breakfast ...:breakfast is served in English china, a large selection of cheeses , meat sliced, smoked salmon, etc ... freshly baked croissants every morning, a fragrant strawberry. Everything is fresh, seasonal and tasty ... The rooms are very clean, cozy and stylish ...

Reviewer:Liena P | Mon 16th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Cosy little love neat - Rating 5/5

What a wonderful place to bring your beautiful girlfriend! We arrived on the 13th of October and we were shown to our amazing China room after our complementary champagne (not prosecco) Our hosts Alex and Ian were excellent;extremely friendly and welcoming.We sat out in the garden at night, it was quiet and peaceful and the bar inside is cosy and relaxing to have a few drinks in.The hotel is in Old Portsmouth which is a historic part of Portsmouth, theres a cathedral 200m away which is definitely worth a visit. There’s also a nice restaurant just round the corner called Abar Bistro and they serve up nice food.

Reviewer:george p | Sat 14th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely stay at Ye Spotted Dogge - Rating 5/5

We stopped at 11.15am to get a parking permit but were cordially invited to check in then as our room was ready.We were greeted with a complimentary glass of champagne (not prosecco woohoo) and after a little interesting conversation about the history of the lovely establishment we were shown to our room.It was wonderfully historic in feel but with a very modern bathroom - just the ideal combination.We had a drink in the cosy bar after our evening meal, meeting a very pleasant couple and being regaled with great tales by the night manager.The bed was as comfortable as we've ever slept in.Finally the continental breakfast was interesting and delicious.With it's pleasant and central location couldn't have chosen better or recommend more.Service was very friendly without being intrusive.Ideal.Thank you.

Reviewer:Mr Steve P | Tue 10th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Opulent, Elegant & Historical Stay - Rating 5/5

Alex very welcoming on arrival.Enjoyed some time with Ian in the lounge learning more on the history of the building and Ian's journey in creating this beautiful boutique hotel with complimentary chapangne - beautiful touch.The room was of the quality expected, full mini bar and all the added extras to make the stay warm and welcoming, real fine bone China for tea....how wonderful! Bed very comfortable.The bar within the hotel is small but welcoming.Highlights of the stay were defiantly Alex and Ian and how friendly and helpful they both were. Lots of recommendations and very pleasant.This is a hotel of quality and history and I do believe will attract a particular type of clientele, having said that we will deffinatley be returning next year!

Reviewer:MariaGrady1985 Southampton, United K | Sat 30th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


“Exceptional hotel!” - Rating 5/5

Ian has done an amazing job of making things contemporary and yet retaining the history of the building.

Reviewer:GavinUnited K | Wed 27th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


“Excellent hotel” - Rating 5/5

We felt most welcome at this wonderful little hotel. Our room, steeped in history, was sumptuously decorated and furnished, with a really comfortable bed. Breakfast offered a wide variety and was served in a stunning room looking out onto the garden. Our hosts, Ian and Alex, were most helpful and attentive. The position of Ye Spotted Dogge is perfect for exploring Portsmouth and is within walking distance of many tourist attractions and restaurants.

Reviewer:milano3591 London, United K | Sat 23rd Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Good location. Excellent accommodation. Ample cold buffet breakfast. Lots to explore. - Rating 5/5

A warm welcome. Beautiful building exquisitely & lovingly restored with no expense spared on luxury finishes. All your needs are catered for by clean & smart staff who are not overly attentive. Beautiful walled garden , arranged so you feel you are in your own space sitting among the foliage & soft lighting. A truly relaxing place to stay & one we hope to return to as there is so much history to explore 10 mins walk away at the historic docks & designer shopping at Gunwharf keys with plenty of restaurants to enjoy.

Reviewer:Mike, ( | Fri 22nd Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


“Excellent. Will definitely return and stay longer next time.” - Rating 5/5

Nothing really but our room had a freestanding bath with modesty screen/curtain, I would have preferred a shower but I guess what's good enough for royalty....눇6 bedroom 15th Century Inn in old Portsmouth. Beautifully restored, great rooms and facilities. Superb walled garden with discrete seating areas. Delightful bar open to 'members' as well as guests. Owner and Staff really friendly and helpful. Complementary glass of champagne on arrival and a history lesson of the room we were staying in - ours having been decorated several hundred years earlier (but since discretely updated!) in readiness to receive King Charles 1 but who unfortunately quickly cancelled his reservation upon learning of the murder of his mate the Duke of Buckingham in the pub!

Reviewer:| Tue 19th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


“Exceptional hotel!” - Rating 5/5

What an amazing experience! We were greeted by Ian the owner with a glass of champagne and a quick history lesson about the property before being shown to our beautiful room. The staff were exceptional, the decor stunning, brilliant location walking distance from Gunwharf Quays, beautiful garden and a scrummy cold buffet breakfast. We totally loved it ❤️

Reviewer:MelodyS | Mon 18th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


- Rating 5/5

Loved our stay, Ian and Alex made us feel very welcome and made sure we had everything we needed. Even getting me dairy free options for breakfast after I just mentioned in passing that I don't eat dairy. Such an awesome place with such great history. Cannot wait to go back.

Reviewer:Carly S | Sun 17th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


“Great and would visit again” - Rating 5/5

Comfortable and surprisingly organised given it had only opened to guests the day before. Excellent host. Delicious breakfast.

Reviewer:LouUnited K | Sun 17th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely little hotel with lots of interesting history. Great location for exploring the city's sights - Rating 5/5

Really friendly welcome by Ian and his team

Reviewer:Simon, ( | Tue 12th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Night away - Rating 5/5

Decided to go to old Portsmouth for two days to visit the historical dockyard and other attractions. All hotels that we know were booked so on line came across this guest house. Amazing find. Brilliant welcome. What an amazing house so well restored with such character. Immaculate through out. Intriguing property. Made extra special by the owner who clearly loves this house. Breakfast great. The lady that served us was first class and the gentleman helping. Well worth the money. Short walk to spice island. Bedroom well equipped. Beautiful bathroom .Will be back and recommending to others. The hotel has to be part of our trip and this certainly was. Only bad bit had to leave!!

Reviewer:Annette S | Mon 11th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Extra Information

  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Bar
  • Wifi
  • Luxury
  • Wedding Functions

RATES

Rates are per room per night inclusive of a continental breakfast for the number of people agreed on the confirmation and include VAT at the current rate. Children cannot be accommodated at Ye Spotted Dogge.There is no capacity for extra beds in any of the rooms.
You can cancel free of charge until 60 days before arrival.You will be charged the total price if you cancel on the 60 days before arrival.If you don't show up you will be charged there total price.
You will be charged a prepayment of the total price at any time after booking.