Reviews

Beautiful hotel - Rating 5/5

Not your average hotel! The rooms are really beautiful and I loved the bath.

Reviewer:Nabeena Mali | Wed 29th Nov 2017


Lovely Treat - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful stay here last weekend. It was cold outside but warm and cosy inside, we felt thoroughly spoilt with a lovely welcome, beautiful surroundings and a friendly atmosphere. The position is great just a short walk to local restaurants, pubs and Gunwharf Quays. We will be back !

Reviewer:Shyvonne T | Fri 24th Nov 2017


Historic hotel on a quiet street - Rating 5/5

The fact that the staff make you feel welcome and the fact that this is a historic building so has a lot of character with quiet comfortable rooms.This is a 15th century building which has recently been converted into a hotel, the rooms are exceptionally comfortable and the one I had has a large and modern bathroom. The management and staff are very helpful and there is a nice bar. The hotel is located on the old town high street but this residential and quiet. You have a 20 min walk to the town center or to the ferry terminals. Because it is an old building there is no lift and there are three floors, however the staff will bring the luggage to the room. This is a very good place to stay in Portsmouth as it has a lot of character which is different to the chain hotels, there is no hotel parking and the only option is to park on the street outside. This hotel has a walled courtyard garden which will be nice in the summer and is a rare find in Portsmouth, the room I had has a minibar fridge and a good TV.

Reviewer:Dave | Thu 23rd Nov 2017


“Comfortable stay in Old Portsmouth” - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed our stay at Ye Spotted Dog which is very central for visiting Portsmouth and is set in a beautiful old building with lots of history and a lovely walled garden.We stayed for only one night but we we were welcomed by the owner on arrival with a complimentary glass of fizz and given a comprehensive history of the building and all of the staff were very helpful and friendly throughout our stay.Would recommend as a place to stay in Portsmouth although the room cost at over £200 per night is a little on the high side for B&B with continental breakfast.However in saying that the continental breakfast is of a particularly high quality with lots of fresh produce and we were kindly allowed a late check out at no additional cost so overall a thumbs up.

Reviewer:| Thu 23rd Nov 2017


Beautiful stay - Rating 5/5

I can not fault this place. Ian and Alex have created a stay with a personal touch, attention to detail and 100% customer service. Their rooms are incredible, keeping the history of this heritage listed building, while creating a very comfortable stay for their guests. We were upgraded into the red room! What a treat this room is... so much history and so comfortable... the en suite and the bath a huge unexpected treat! From the initial chat with Ian with a complimentary glass of champagne, to the continental breakfast with fine china... our stay has been incredible... best night sleep I have had in a very long time! Simply... book a room... an experience you won’t regret... worth every penny... we wish Ian and Alex all the best with this beautiful business they have created.

Reviewer:| Fri 17th Nov 2017


A real find! - Rating 5/5

I loved everything about this gorgeous little hotel. The owner met us at the door and gave us a potted history of the hotel (which was fascinating!) while we drank a complimentary glass of champagne in the lounge. We were then shown to our room, which was beautiful. Dinner reservations were made in a great local restaurant for us and nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely be back!

Reviewer:MelodyLillian Madrid, Spain | Sun 22nd Oct 2017


Wonderful hotel - Rating 5/5

It was quite by accident that I booked a two-room number in Portsmouth ... And we got into a fairy tale! This is a real historical building, hotel-museum ... As it turned out later, in this house the famous Duke of Buckingham was stabbed !!! All the interiors are decorated with high artistic taste, it is clear that the owner has invested in this part of his soul. Separately worth noting is very friendly staff, we were greeted as family ... did not want to leave ... We spent in this wonderful house 4 days ... I almost forgot to tell about breakfast ...:breakfast is served in English china, a large selection of cheeses , meat sliced, smoked salmon, etc ... freshly baked croissants every morning, a fragrant strawberry. Everything is fresh, seasonal and tasty ... The rooms are very clean, cozy and stylish ...

Reviewer:Liena Puchkova | Mon 16th Oct 2017


Cosy little love neat - Rating 5/5

What a wonderful place to bring your beautiful girlfriend! We arrived on the 13th of October and we were shown to our amazing China room after our complementary champagne (not prosecco) Our hosts Alex and Ian were excellent;extremely friendly and welcoming. We sat out in the garden at night, it was quiet and peaceful and the bar inside is cosy and relaxing to have a few drinks in.The hotel is in Old Portsmouth which is a historic part of Portsmouth, theres a cathedral 200m away which is definitely worth a visit. There’s also a nice restaurant just round the corner called Abar Bistro and they serve up nice food.

Reviewer:george p | Sat 14th Oct 2017


Lovely stay at Ye Spotted Dogge - Rating 5/5

We stopped at 11.15am to get a parking permit but were cordially invited to check in then as our room was ready.We were greeted with a complimentary glass of champagne (not prosecco woohoo) and after a little interesting conversation about the history of the lovely establishment we were shown to our room.It was wonderfully historic in feel but with a very modern bathroom - just the ideal combination.We had a drink in the cosy bar after our evening meal, meeting a very pleasant couple and being regaled with great tales by the night manager.The bed was as comfortable as we\'ve ever slept in.Finally the continental breakfast was interesting and delicious. With it\'s pleasant and central location couldn\'t have chosen better or recommend more.Service was very friendly without being intrusive.Ideal.Thank you.

Reviewer:Mr Steve Pass | Tue 10th Oct 2017


Opulent, Elegant & Historical Stay - Rating 5/5

Alex very welcoming on arrival. Enjoyed some time with Ian in the lounge learning more on the history of the building and Ian's journey in creating this beautiful boutique hotel with complimentary chapangne - beautiful touch.The room was of the quality expected, full mini bar and all the added extras to make the stay warm and welcoming, real fine bone China for tea....how wonderful! Bed very comfortable.The bar within the hotel is small but welcoming.Highlights of the stay were defiantly Alex and Ian and how friendly and helpful they both were. Lots of recommendations and very pleasant. This is a hotel of quality and history and I do believe will attract a particular type of clientele, having said that we will deffinatley be returning next year!

Reviewer:MariaGrady1985 Southampton, United Kingdom | Sat 30th Sep 2017


“Exceptional hotel!” - Rating 5/5

Ian has done an amazing job of making things contemporary and yet retaining the history of the building.

Reviewer:GavinUnited Kingdom | Wed 27th Sep 2017


“Excellent hotel” - Rating 5/5

We felt most welcome at this wonderful little hotel. Our room, steeped in history, was sumptuously decorated and furnished, with a really comfortable bed. Breakfast offered a wide variety and was served in a stunning room looking out onto the garden. Our hosts, Ian and Alex, were most helpful and attentive. The position of Ye Spotted Dogge is perfect for exploring Portsmouth and is within walking distance of many tourist attractions and restaurants.

Reviewer:milano3591 London, United Kingdom | Sat 23rd Sep 2017


Good location. Excellent accommodation. Ample cold buffet breakfast. Lots to explore. - Rating 5/5

A warm welcome. Beautiful building exquisitely & lovingly restored with no expense spared on luxury finishes. All your needs are catered for by clean & smart staff who are not overly attentive. Beautiful walled garden , arranged so you feel you are in your own space sitting among the foliage & soft lighting. A truly relaxing place to stay & one we hope to return to as there is so much history to explore 10 mins walk away at the historic docks & designer shopping at Gunwharf keys with plenty of restaurants to enjoy.

Reviewer:Mike, (GB) | Fri 22nd Sep 2017


“Excellent. Will definitely return and stay longer next time.” - Rating 5/5

Nothing really but our room had a freestanding bath with modesty screen/curtain, I would have preferred a shower but I guess what's good enough for royalty....눇6 bedroom 15th Century Inn in old Portsmouth. Beautifully restored, great rooms and facilities. Superb walled garden with discrete seating areas. Delightful bar open to 'members' as well as guests. Owner and Staff really friendly and helpful. Complementary glass of champagne on arrival and a history lesson of the room we were staying in - ours having been decorated several hundred years earlier (but since discretely updated!) in readiness to receive King Charles 1 but who unfortunately quickly cancelled his reservation upon learning of the murder of his mate the Duke of Buckingham in the pub!

Reviewer:| Tue 19th Sep 2017


“Exceptional hotel!” - Rating 5/5

What an amazing experience! We were greeted by Ian the owner with a glass of champagne and a quick history lesson about the property before being shown to our beautiful room. The staff were exceptional, the decor stunning, brilliant location walking distance from Gunwharf Quays, beautiful garden and a scrummy cold buffet breakfast. We totally loved it ❤️

Reviewer:MelodySpain | Mon 18th Sep 2017


- Rating 5/5

Loved our stay, Ian and Alex made us feel very welcome and made sure we had everything we needed. Even getting me dairy free options for breakfast after I just mentioned in passing that I don't eat dairy. Such an awesome place with such great history. Cannot wait to go back.

Reviewer:Carly Stirling | Sun 17th Sep 2017


“Great and would visit again” - Rating 5/5

Comfortable and surprisingly organised given it had only opened to guests the day before. Excellent host. Delicious breakfast.

Reviewer:LouUnited Kingdom | Sun 17th Sep 2017


Lovely little hotel with lots of interesting history. Great location for exploring the city's sights - Rating 5/5

Really friendly welcome by Ian and his team

Reviewer:Simon, (GB) | Tue 12th Sep 2017


Night away - Rating 5/5

Decided to go to old Portsmouth for two days to visit the historical dockyard and other attractions. All hotels that we know were booked so on line came across this guest house. Amazing find. Brilliant welcome. What an amazing house so well restored with such character. Immaculate through out. Intriguing property. Made extra special by the owner who clearly loves this house. Breakfast great. The lady that served us was first class and the gentleman helping. Well worth the money. Short walk to spice island. Bedroom well equipped. Beautiful bathroom .Will be back and recommending to others. The hotel has to be part of our trip and this certainly was. Only bad bit had to leave!!

Reviewer:Annette S | Mon 11th Sep 2017


Extra Information

  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Bar
  • Wifi
  • Luxury
  • Wedding Functions

Rates are per room per night inclusive of a continental breakfast for the number of people agreed on the confirmation and include VAT at the current rate. Children cannot be accommodated at Ye Spotted Dogge.There is no capacity for extra beds in any of the rooms.
You can cancel free of charge until 60 days before arrival.You will be charged the total price if you cancel on the 60 days before arrival.If you don't show up you will be charged there total price.
You will be charged a prepayment of the total price at any time after booking.